Sunday Rewind by Jennifer Taylor…

Jennifer (far left) and some of our lady volunteers after a Sunday meal.

Yesterday was a beautiful day to be outside and serving in downtown Birmingham. I didn’t know what to expect when we got there because it was so pretty. Some of the men I had met before downtown had told me that people like to walk around and go other places when the weather is nice. But when we arrived, we saw that a large crowd of people were already in line waiting. I tried to count them as I walked from my car to Jim’s truck but I lost count somewhere around 45 and I hadn’t even counted half of the people in line yet.

The meal was provided by one of SMBC’s Sunday school classes and it consisted of various forms of pasta including lasagna, spaghetti, and macaroni and cheese. I was carrying a garbage bag and I had many people tell me how great it was as they threw away their trash. One man told me, “That pasta is it!” Not being sure what he meant I asked, “It was good?” and he confirmed, “YES, it was! Thank you!”

You never know what to expect when you get downtown as far as the crowd goes but when the weather is as beautiful as it was yesterday it’s nice to think so many people downtown would choose to spend the afternoon with Urban Purpose. You might be surprised to see how many of the people stick around to chat as well. As long as someone wants to talk, Urban Purpose stays to listen.

You met all kinds of people when you are serving downtown.  Sometimes they are frustrating, sometimes they break your heart, sometimes they make you smile, and sometimes they even make your day. But this is what I know, whoever I meet; Jesus paid the same price for that person as he did for me. Everyone matters. Everyone has value. And, everyone needs a chance to know that.

Yesterday was a great day downtown.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

